Legend of the Vine Award

WCA initiated the Legend of the Vine Awards to recognise an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Australian industry and who epitomises the spirit and ethos of WCA.

Recipients of this award are a member of the Australian wine industry who embody the WCA maxim of ‘Engage, Connect, Learn and Inspire’. They are an individual who throughout their career, has lead by example and has added their own skilled and distinctive voice to the Australian wine story.

Initially presented in New South Wales, in 2014 the concept was expanded to include Victoria and South Australia.

Nominees for the Legend of the Vine Award are nominated by the WCA Board and State Chapters, with the nominee for each state chosen by the WCA Board and presented at the WCA Royal Wine Show lunches in Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide.

Each winner receives a lifetime membership to the WCA, adding their name to a highly respected list of wine industry individuals as listed below.

Due to global pandemic and its impact on our industry and events, the Legend of the Vine was not awarded in 2020.

Our legends of the past and present

2023 Liz Riley
2022 Andrew Caillard MW
2021 Sandra Przibilla
2019 Lyndey Milan OAM
2018 Huon Hooke
2017 Clive Hartley
2016 Iain Riggs
2015 Rob Hirst
2014 David Lowe
2013 Philip Laffer
2012 Chris Anstee


2023 Alister Purbrick
2019 Steve Flamsteed
2018 Jeni Port
2017 Eric Vivian Thomson
2016 Kathleen Quealy
2015 Ross Brown
2014 Colin Campbell

South Australia

2023 Jane Ferrari
2022 Peter Hayes
2021 Brian Croser AO
2019 Pam Dunsford
2018 Tony Love
2017 Brian Walsh
2016 d’Arry Osborne
2015 Bill Hardy OAM
2014 Patrick Iland